Announces Annual TAMI Awards for Outstanding Industry Contributions
(National Harbor, MD – November 1, 2018) CTAM is pleased to announce that the recipient of
the 2018 CTAM Beacon Award for Communications Excellence is Chris LaPlaca, senior vice
president, corporate communications, ESPN. The award, established by the CTAM
Communications Steering Council, spotlights communications executives for extraordinary
accomplishments, while exemplifying the pillars of communications and public relations
excellence. The Council selected LaPlaca as a bow to his impressive career, spanning 38
“Chris LaPlaca is just as good as it gets for our function, our industry and – most importantly – as
a person, all of which make him the perfect choice for the first CTAM Beacon Award,” said Jim
Maiella, SVP and co-head of corporate communications for AMC Networks. “His leadership of a
dynamic team of highly achieving communicators at ESPN, across a broad array of activities
and business opportunities over many years, has been remarkable. Yet, he still finds the time to
be a trusted friend and ally for so many of us focused on driving results at our own companies
through our shared function and expertise. We couldn’t be more pleased to present him with this
well-deserved recognition.”
In addition, CTAM announces its roster of the annual CTAM TAMI Award winners, honoring
individuals for their leadership in addressing business challenges and creating opportunities for
members to achieve greater impact by working together.
The 2018 TAMI honorees are:
• Jason Axsom, Director of Mover Marketing, Cox Communications
o For long-term commitment to setting and reaching high success metrics for
Mover marketing initiative
• Lisa Majdi, Senior Director, Segment and Channel Marketing, Cox Business
o For providing guidance crucial to the growth of the CableBusinessConnect portal
• Jim Maiella, SVP and Co-Head, Corporate Communications, AMC Networks
o For leading the integration of the Assoc. of Cable Communicators into CTAM to
strengthen alliances between industry communications and marketing
• Susan Mattia, Senior Director, Affiliate Marketing, ESPN
o For strengthening TV Everywhere marketing by providing inside looks at
innovative best practices
• Lita Vernick, Director, Program Management, Comcast Business
o For creating the hallmark Business Services Indirect Channel Program
• Paul Wolfe, Senior Director, X1 Data Quality, Comcast
o For educating members on next-generation enhancements to the content search,
discovery and navigation experience
• Rebecca Whittington, Director, North American Sourcing, Gracenote
o For clear direction on how to improve metadata practices to ensure accuracy and
• Supplier Company Honoree – Synacor
o For sharing TV Everywhere technology solutions to the challenges of Home
Based Authentication and Single Sign On
“These leaders are core to the industry’s success and we’re proud to illuminate their work,” said
Vicki Lins, president and CEO, CTAM. “Each of them uniquely represents how forming strategic
connections helps us thrive and succeed amidst disruption.”
The honorees will be recognized during the CTAM year-end meeting, November 13, in NYC.

For media inquiries, contact:
Mary Shaw
Director, Communications & Media Relations, CTAM
About CTAM
CTAM unites leaders in media, entertainment and technology to enrich consumers’ lives with exciting
experiences, from what they watch to how they communicate, to the way they live and work. Member
companies drive collaborative marketing and communications initiatives, so they can achieve greater
success by working together, and ultimately better serve the millions of people they engage every day.
CTAM provides a proven framework that fuels knowledge sharing, innovation and inspiration — creating
value by aligning members to solve challenges, adjust to industry dynamics, and adapt to new consumer